Our masters at Paladiya, verifies that each diamond reaches the grading standard and matches the Paladiya’s standard of quality.

Here, expert graders draw on the state-of-the-art technologies and years of experience to examine each diamond, going beyond the technical 4C’s criteria to hand-select only the most beautiful diamonds.

The diamonds are made to pass through the expert graders to check the flaws and imperfections, authenticity and symmetry & inclusions and color categorization.

The Universal 4 C’s of Grading a Diamond are :

  • +0.30
  • +0.40
  • +0.50
  • +0.70
  • +0.90
  • +1.00
  • +1.50
  • +2.00
  • +2.50
  • +3.00
  • +4.00

Carat :

Carat is a measure of weight. One carat (1ct) equals 0.20 grams and is divided into 100 points, so a half-carat (0.50 carat) diamond is also known as a 50 points diamond. No diamond is valued by carat weight alone – two diamonds of equal carat weight may have very different values depending on cut, clarity and colour. A diamond can appear larger or smaller than its weight, depending on cut. Your diamond may have a higher carat weight than a bigger-looking diamond with a shallower cut. Different designs and mountings also affect the appearance of size.

Cut :

Cut refers to the cutting of the diamond; the most crucial stage in the revelation of its polished brilliance, fire and scintillation. Extremely specific parameters of angle and dimension are applied, with strict attention to the polished finish. Poorly polished facets do not reflect light or scintillate well. Inaccuracy in facet dimensions and angles diminishes a diamond’s internal light performance or refraction – white light return and coloured light flashes or ‘fire’. Look for a diamond with at least Very Good cut grade to maximise aspects of beauty, light, reflection,scintillation, contrast and pattern as well as fire. A well-cut diamond will reflect light within itself, from one mirror-like facet to another. If a diamond is cut too deep or too shallow lightwill be lost through the side or bottom. This reduces its brilliance and value. A well-cut diamond provides a balance between brilliance, fire and scintillation. Brilliance is the white light reflected from the internal and external surfaces of the diamond.Dispersion, or ‘fire’ as it is more commonly known, are the flashes of color that come from the diamond. Scintillation is the sparkle or flashes of light you see as the diamond moves.

  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • I
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W
  • X
  • Y
  • Z

Colour :

Colour is a crucial element in a diamond’s appearance. Apart from exceedingly rare fancy colour diamonds, the rarest diamonds are colourless. Paladiya’s diamond are scrutinised to determine micro-variations in depth of colour, from light yellow to colourless. Universally, this is known as the D to Z colour scale. In this scale, ‘colourless’ diamonds D, E, and F show so little difference that it takes an expert with master diamonds of known grades to distinguish one from another. Near colourless G, H, I begin to show faint hints of colour only when compared with diamonds higher up the scale. J, K and L will show hints of colour when compared against a pure white background. Colour variations can be so slight that colour grading is done by an expert under controlled lighting conditions using a master set for accuracy. The light performance of well-cut colourless to slightly tinted diamonds masks their colour to the extent that there is virtually no perceptible difference in the top 5 colours once diamonds are set in jewellery. G-H colour diamonds perform equally well as D, E and F in a jewel.

  • LF Flawless
  • IF Internally Flawless
  • VVS1,VVS2 Very Very Slightly Included
  • VS1,VS2 Very Slightly Included
  • SI1,SI2,SI3 Slightly Included
  • I1,I2,I3 Included

Clarity :

Clarity measures the purity of the diamond; how free it is from tiny blemishes. These minute features, called inclusions, appeared when the diamond formed in the earth’s mantle as it crystallised under intense heat and pressure, and are mostly invisible to the naked eye. They determine the diamond’s unique fingerprint. The clarity grade a diamond is given is determined by the degree to which these natural features are visible at ten times magnification and the number, type, colour, size and position of the features in the diamond. Skin blemishes are surface features like scratches and nicks. Inclusions are naturally occurring features in the diamond such as tiny fissures or feathers and include crystals that can be diamond or other minerals. The rarest of rare diamonds, known as flawless, are those with no internal features and no external features or blemishes visible at ten times magnification.